CCSLI Home: Sign Language Monterey Salinas Santa Cruz Santa Clara CCSLI Services: Sign Language Monterey Salinas Santa Cruz Santa Clara CCSLI Evaluation: Sign Language Monterey Salinas Santa Cruz Santa Clara CCSLI Requests: Sign Language Monterey Salinas Santa Cruz Santa Clara CCSLI Workshops: Sign Language Monterey Salinas Santa Cruz Santa Clara CCSLI Mentoring: Sign Language Monterey Salinas Santa Cruz Santa Clara CCSLI Contact: Sign Language Monterey Salinas Santa Cruz Santa Clara CCSLI Languages: ASL Spanish Korean Chinese Arabic Germa Monterey Salinas Santa Cruz Santa Clara


American Sign Language (ASL) Online Classes

This online introductory ASL course covers units 1-4 in the typical college level Signing Naturally Level 1 Curriculum. You will learn the many basics of ASL including vocabulary, non-manual signals, grammar, fingerspelling, introductions, numbers and identifying locations. These classes also introduce the students to Deaf culture and are taught by a native user of the language. (classes are a minimum of 12 students)

Instructor: Lamar J. Ray BS CDI TESOL
Lamar was born and raised in Buffalo, NY. He graduated from RIT, with a Bachelor of Science in multidisciplinary degree in Psychology/Sociology/Deaf Studies. Lamar is a Nationally Certified Deaf Interpreter with over 20 years experience as an instructor. This experience includes but is not limited to teaching ASL Deaf Studies at SUNY, NY, Interpreter Ethics, Medical and Legal Training at Holyoke Community College, MA, Interpreter Training & Translation at University of New Hampshire (UNH) Manchester. Lamar also co-developed the well known lecture series Deaf in America: Voices from a Culture. His articles on Deaf culture have been published in the national RID Views, and he has been used extensively in many ASL translation projects.


When: Monday's for 4 weeks starting January 4, 2021

Time: 10:00 am – 12 Noon PST
11:00 am – 1:00 pm MST
12:00 noon – 2:00 pm CST
1:00 pm – 3:00 pm EST

Where: ZOOM


S T E P   O N E:   PAY REGISTRATION FEE

Enrollment Option



S T E P   T W O:   FILL OUT REGISTRATION FORM

Name:
Contact Phone:
Contact E-mail:
Any other details you wish to include?
 








Updated on 12/1/2020

CCSLI NEWS


EIPA & Me: Voicing - Registration full
ASL Chat with Deaf Language Mentors - Registration now open!
EIPA & Me: Classifiers - Registration now open!
EIPA & Me: Top-Down Processing - Registration full
New Text-to-911 Service in Monterey County

We accept online payments!

Easily pay invoices and registration fees!
Home    Services    Evaluation    Requests    Workshops    Mentoring    Contact Us    Learn A Language